Yasiel Puig was pulled from the game at the beginning of the fifth inning. Still not sure of the reason, but it appears to be something of a disciplinary nature. No announcement has been made here in the press box, but Charley Steiner just announced on the radio, as if he had received it as some sort of official word, that there was “no injury” and that Puig was removed due to “manager’s discretion.”
Tough to ascertain at this point what it would have been. Puig failed to slide into second on a first-inning double play, when a slide might have prevented or at least disrupted the relay throw, but he wasn’t removed from the game until four innings later. He caught two fly balls in right field in the top of the fourth, but I don’t recall there being anything unusual about either of them. I don’t think he hotdogged it on those. He also struck out in the third, but it was a swinging strikeout, so I don’t think it was an issue with the umpire.
We may have to wait until after the game to get the real story, but I’ll update if and when I have more. Puig is watching the game from the dugout now.
Skip Schumaker took over in right field to begin the top of the fifth.