Category Archives: Video

Short pregame video from AFL Fall Stars Game

The East team must really want to win this thing badly, because these guys actually took INFIELD before the game. A little about tonight’s game: as I stated a few days ago here, it’s not an all-star game in the traditional sense. It’s a showcase game. The guys who are here aren’t here because they are having great seasons in the Arizona Fall League — some of them are, but some of them, like Dodgers shortstop prospect Corey Seager (.160 batting average, 18 strikeouts in 50 at-bats) aren’t. They are here because they presumably are the major league standouts of the future, and this is your chance to get an early look at them. If your cable provided provides the MLB Network, the game begins in less than an hour, at 5 p.m. Pacific. The other Dodgers player here is reliever Yimi Garcia, who actually is having a decent AFL campaign. He has made seven appearances, giving up three earned runs over 8 2/3 innings. Garcia has a chance to be in the majors sometime next season. Seager is probably at least a year away.

When we awoke the next morning, the call was still correct

In case you missed it, this is video of the Boston Red Sox getting completely hosed in Game 3 of the World Series, a game that was made all the more important by the fact that the two teams had split the first two games at Fenway Park. However, this video, on which you can hear the voices of NBC’s Curt Gowdy and Tony Kubek and longtime Reds radio voice Marty Brennaman, isn’t from last night. It’s from Oct. 14, 1975. Because the Red Sox didn’t get hosed last night. More on that below the video.

For those of you not old enough to remember, what ended up happening here as a result of Ed Armbrister NOT getting called for interference with Carlton Fisk fielding his bunt was that the Reds had runners on second and third with nobody out in the 10th inning, and Joe Morgan eventually drove in the winning run with a walkoff single, giving the Reds a 2-1 lead in a Series they went on to win in seven games.

OK, about last night.

Jim Joyce‘s obstruction call on Will Middlebrooks, which allowed Allen Craig to score the winning run and give the St. Louis Cardinals a two-games-to-one-lead, was a tough way for the Red Sox to lose a World Series game. But it was absolutely, positively the right call. Judging by the TV sound bytes I saw from the Red Sox clubhouse after the game and the reaction of Red Sox Nation on Twitter, no one in New England was willing to accept this reality in the first couple of hours after the game, and I’m sure many of those folks still aren’t. But I’m guessing there are a few who have viewed the replay enough now, with their emotions removed from the equation, to see that this clearly was obstruction.

Let me join the chorus of those who hate to see such a big game on such a big stage end in such a bizarre way. You never want to see a World Series game decided on a controversial call by an umpire, or by the umpiring crew. It’s not the way such things should be determined. But the nature of the game is such that, on occasion, this is going to happen, and when it does, you just hope the umpires get that call right. And this time, they did.

In the interest of full disclosure, I’m rooting for the Cardinals in this Series. As I told you before, I ALWAYS root for the National League team in the World Series. The reason for this is that, well, there is no reason, I just do. Always have, since I was a little kid. Can’t explain it to myself, much less to you. It’s the same reason I like peanuts and cashews but hate pecans and walnuts. Or that I like fish, chicken and beef but can’t stand pork. There is no reason for it. It just is.

But the fact I’m rooting for the Cardinals has nothing to do with the fact this call was correct. I knew instantly that the bad call in the first inning of Game 1 that went in the Cardinals’ favor was wrong, and when it was overturned, I was glad they got it right, even though it wound up costing the Cardinals three runs in that inning and they wound up losing a lopsided game.

But I want to address a few of the arguments I heard for why the game shouldn’t have ended this way.

First, here are the two applicable rules, Rule 2.00 and Rule 7.06

Rule 2.00.

OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.

Rule 2.00 (Obstruction) Comment: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered “in the act of fielding a ball.” It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball. For example: an infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner.

Rule 7.06.

When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal “Obstruction.”

(a) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction. Any preceding runners, forced to advance by the award of bases as the penalty for obstruction, shall advance without liability to be put out.

Rule 7.06(a) Comment: When a play is being made on an obstructed runner, the umpire shall signal obstruction in the same manner that he calls “Time,” with both hands overhead. The ball is immediately dead when this signal is given; however, should a thrown ball be in flight before the obstruction is called by the umpire, the runners are to be awarded such bases on wild throws as they would have been awarded had not obstruction occurred. On a play where a runner was trapped between second and third and obstructed by the third baseman going into third base while the throw is in flight from the shortstop, if such throw goes into the dugout the obstructed runner is to be awarded home base. Any other runners on base in this situation would also be awarded two bases from the base they last legally touched before obstruction was called.

Now, one argument against the call that I heard — and dare I say the most ridiculous one — was that yeah, if you go by the letter of the law, it’s the right call, but the umpires shouldn’t let a World Series game end like that. Ummmm, OK, so what should they have done? NOT go by the letter of the law? What is this, Little League, where we want everybody to feel good afterward? No, this is the WORLD SERIES. Look, if Craig doesn’t trip over Middlebrooks, that play at the plate isn’t even close. He scores, game over. Can you imagine, then, the outcry if the umpires HADN’T called interference?

Another argument: Craig was out of the baseline. No, he wasn’t. If you go to this link, you can see umpires Joyce, Dana DeMuth and crew chief John Hirschbeck, along with their supervisor, Joe Torre, in the postgame interview room. If you don’t want to sit through the entire eight-minute video, though, here are the money quotes on the subject of whether Craig was out of the baseline.

Q. I’m just curious, is there any responsibility of the runner to make sure he’s in the baseline? Did you guys check for that? Often a runner comes around third and circles around the third base coach’s box. It seems like Craig was clearly on the inside part of third more toward shortstop. Is it the responsibility of the runner to make sure he’s inside the baseline?

JIM JOYCE: He was right on the baseline. He was right on the chalk. And so that never played into any decision, at all, because he was ‑‑ he had slid, stood up, and he was literally right on the chalk.

JOHN HIRSCHBECK: Don’t forget, the runner establishes his own baseline. If he’s on second on a base hit and rounds third wide, that baseline is from where he is, way outside the line, back to third and to home plate, it’s almost a triangle. So the runner establishes his own baseline.

I heard the argument that Middlebrooks clearly didn’t intend to obstruct Craig. But it doesn’t matter. The rule says nothing about intent. It’s the first statement made by Hirschbeck on the video I linked to above, before the umps even took any questions, when he said, “It does not have to be intent. There does not have to be intent.”

And finally, I heard the argument that the call was correct according to the rule, but it’s a stupid rule. OK, fine, but what are you going to do, change the rule in the middle of Game 3 of the World Series, just because the rule is a bad one? I’m pretty sure they can’t do that.

Now that we have settled that, I also would like to point out that …

If Red Sox manager John Farrell had done the wise thing and intentionally walked Jon Jay to load the bases, thus setting up a double play and a force at every base and bringing up light-hitting Cardinals shortstop Pete Kozma, the Red Sox still might have lost, but they wouldn’t have lost this way. In fact, the insanity that ensued when the Cardinals were awarded the winning run probably saved Farrell from a barrage of second-guessing along the lines of what Don Mattingly dealt with in each of the two rounds his Dodgers played in these playoffs, and …

If Red Sox catcher Jarrod Saltalamacchia doesn’t make that questionable throw to third base in the first place, or if he does make the throw and makes it accurately, or if Middlebrooks leaves the bag in an effort to catch the ball and stop it from sailing up the third-base line, the Red Sox still might have lost, but they wouldn’t have lost this way. Either Craig would have been out at third, sending the game to extra innings, or Craig would have been safe at third and the game would have continued with runners on the corners and two outs in the ninth.

Look, the Red Sox may still win this Series. If they win Game 4, it’s a best-of-three, with two of the three at Fenway. But if Boston loses this Series, we may never hear the end of it. Despite the fact the Red Sox won the World Series in 2004 and 2007, Red Sox Nation may start whining about that ridiculous Curse of the Bambino again. And the heartache and heartbreak of being a Red Sox fan. And all those New England literary types may start to write 300-page tomes about the bitter disappointment of another promising October that slipped from the grasp of their heroes, just like Mookie Wilson‘s ground ball slipped through the legs of Bill Buckner.

Well, they can bring the Curse out of mothballs if they wish. But whatever happens the rest of the way in what is shaping up to be a classic World Series, the Red Sox didn’t lose Game 3 because of any black magic. They lost because of a freak play, an obscure rule and a correct call by Joyce and the entire crew, whose job it is to know the rule book so thoroughly that even when something this rare comes up, they are able to react to it instinctively and decisively and render a correct call within a split second.

It was a World Series moment that will be debated for years, maybe even decades to come. But in the end, there is no debate. The umpires got it right. The Cardinals won. And the Red Sox, righteously indignant though they and their fans may be, lost, fair and square, according to the rules of baseball.

And they better get over it, because Game 4 is a few hours away.

Yasiel Puig postgame video

Through an interpreter, as always.

Adrian Gonzalez postgame video

A.J. Ellis postgame video

I missed Clayton Kershaw‘s media session at his locker because I was in the interview room getting video of Don Mattingly, but I’m told he made no excuses. Here is A.J. Ellis talking a little bit about it, and about the season that just ended and how great it was to play for this team.

Don Mattingly postgame video

Two things jumped out at me during Don Mattingly‘s postgame presser.

First, when he cryptically says of Clayton Kershaw‘s rough night, “Really, we could have been out of that game with three runs … (and) I’m not even going to go into the reasons why, but we didn’t score, so it doesn’t matter.”

I THINK he was talking about a tight strike zone and some calls the Dodgers didn’t get, or he might have been talking about some of the weird throws that Yasiel Puig made. No way to know for sure, but my money’s on the former.

And then, at the end, when he is asked directly about Puig’s poor decision-making.

“We’ve got to do a better job, I think of helping him to mature and understand what we want done and the way to do it.”

Anyway, here is the session, in two parts.

Don Mattingly pregame video

Don Mattingly begins his daily interview-room session with the latest lowdown on Hanley Ramirez. This cuts off prematurely while he is in the midst of his final answer, but it’s a pretty funny answer, and I think I got all the funny part.

Hyun-jin Ryu pregame video

Yes, they bring the next day’s starting pitcher in even when they aren’t sure there is going to BE a next day. If you listen really closely (unless you’re offended by profanity, in which case you probably shouldn’t listen closely), there is a funny moment here right around the 1:20 mark. It’s at the end of Hyun-jin Ryu‘s very diplomatic answer to a question of whether this is the biggest start of his career, and a good friend and colleague who shall remain nameless, and who didn’t realize I was videotaping the proceedings, leans over to me and whispers, “What he really meant to say was, no sh–.”

Adrian Gonzalez/Carl Crawford postgame video

Adrian Gonzalez admitted after the game that he was, in fact, making Mickey Mouse ears as he jogged back to the dugout following the first of his two home runs today, in obvious response to Adam Wainwright‘s comment following Game 3 about Adrian doing “Mickey Mouse stuff.” But Adrian also says he doesn’t plan to make it a thing because “you guys” — that’s the term players always use for the media, sometimes it’s a term of contempt, sometimes not — will make too big of a deal about it if he did. Carl Crawford argues here that it should continue. I can almost guarantee you that it won’t.

Zack Greinke postgame video

Best part is the last question. Zack Greinke is in the first season of a six-year, $147 million contract, and his salary for this season is $17 million. He says it was vitally important for him to win today to protect a $10 bet that he will get his fantasy football team out of last place before the Dodgers’ postseason run ends.